Review: Lily and the Octopus by Steven Rowley

04e525_d9c9f97c9c1f4d648423e8603709c186

When you read 100+ books a year, it stands to reason that you’re not terribly picky.  And while it is true that I will read almost anything there are a few things that I despise.  One of them is talking animals.

Lily and the Octopus was on every must-read list I saw for Summer 2016.  Without even reading beyond the first few sentences of the book book jacket I requested it from the library and  jumped into page 1.  I was captivated by the author’s narrative style – it feels familiar and friendly.  And then I loved Lily’s voice.  Doesn’t this seem perfect for a dachshund?

THIS! EYE! RAIN! YOU! MAKE! IS! FANTASTIC! I! LOVE! THE! SALTY! TASTE! YOU! SHOULD! MAKE ! THIS! EVERY! DAY! (p22)

 

The author uses the technique sparingly. It’s just enough to make Lily more real to me.  And enough to break my dislike of talking animals.

Source:  Public Library

Audience:  Adults.  Maybe teens.

 

 

Leave a Reply

