Yard War by Taylor Kitchings

9780553507539

I enjoyed this book so much that I was telling people about it even before I finished it. I think one of the strengths of the book is that it really seems to get the adolescent narrator’s voice. I think it will be very popular because it combines two things a lot of kids are interested in: sports and the Civil Rights Movement. My only complaint is that I thought the football play descriptions were a little bit much. Of course, that’s what a lot of readers will like best!

Here is a quote that I really liked: “It clanked and rolled, thunder boomed, and the rain came in buckets, like a bat in the street was the signal it had been waiting for.”

 

Source:  Public Library

Audience:  Ages 10 and up

Leave a Reply

