The Crossover by Kwame Alexander

5140wunibil-_sx332_bo1204203200_

My love for this book really surprised me. I’ve read a number of sports-themed books over the years and I always end up skimming the action scenes. Not so with this excellent text.

Love Basketball?
Love Novels in Verse?
Love stories about families?

If you answered YES to any of those questions this is a book for you.
I loved the poems and the cool way they are arranged on the page. And, even though I know next to nothing about basketball, I loved the play-by-play poems.

The author will be speaking at the ILA conference in Boston this summer.  I can’t wait!

This book won the 2015 Newberry Award.  Read more about that here.

Source:  Public Library E book

Audience:  Grade 6 and up, boys and girls, basketball fans and couch potatoes

 

Leave a Reply

