The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly by Stephanie Oakes

I’m struggling with the score on this one.  The writing is outstanding.  I liked going back and forth in time with Minnow as she faces her past.  The events are so horrible they can’t be faced head on. And it is the horror of these events that made me not love the book.  It was so upsetting, I kept thinking about it when I wasn’t reading.  I can’t argue the fact that this is a compelling story, I can’t imagine a reader not staying with it until the very end.  I would have liked a little more about the crime she was arrested for- I can’t even remember his name.  It’s been described as both harrowing and poetic.  I agree.

Source:  public library

audience:  high school

2 thoughts on “The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly by Stephanie Oakes

  1. MyBelovedLittleBooks October 12, 2015 / 4:15 pm

    I love that your reviews are short and to the point. I really like your blog! 🙂

    Like

    • rhodereader November 25, 2015 / 12:31 am

      Thanks, I enjoy documenting what I am reading.

      Like

Leave a Reply

