Complicit by Stephanie Kuehn

(This books reminds me of Gone Girl – you can’t really talk about it unless everyone in the room has read it. If you have not read it, you might want to skip this review)
I had concerns about two things. The parents were unbelievable from the start, replacing their lost kids, ignoring some pretty serious mental health symptoms, and finally washing their hands of the situation at the end: “All I know is I can’t go through this again. I can’t. Neither can your father. So you need to fix whatever this is.” Another concern was the convoluted plot – I know it was a narrative device but it was hard to find the sequence.

I think the slow start will deter some kids, but it is worth reading to the end.

I consider it high school only due to some mature behavior.
That said… what a story! Once I got into it, I could not put this book down.

Leave a Reply

